Graphic Production Report

While editing my concept sketches I decided to use Photoshop, this is because i feel very comfortable in using it.01011304This is one of my first drawings. it is of one of the many choices of game protagonist.

Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 15.56.51I started off by opening my original drawing, i put a blank page on it and lowered the opacity of the page.Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 15.57.52So what i saw while working on it was a slightly less visible version, the reason for this is because then once i have made the changes i can then delete the original photo and still have a background.Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 15.58.35 The tool i would primarily use throughout all of my working is the pen tool. The pen tool is very good for drawing with. Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 16.24.07I would start by outlining the whole of the photo, i would draw with then pen tool on top of the slightly opaque page.Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 16.24.12If i were to bring the opacity up it will look something like this. Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 16.47.22It can be quite a long process but it is one of the ways i found easiest with good results. Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 17.09.23This is the final piece before colouring it. Throughout the process of creating the concepts for our games i have been undeceive on weather my game should be photorealistic or cel-shaded. I ended my decision somewhere in-between. I would rather like there to be bold colour, and yet have the background be more photorealistic. finished daredevilThis was how my final piece of The protagonist came out. I am happy with the result, however i would have liked it too have been more photorealistic. Unfortunately my artistic skill can only take me so far.

This is a huge improvement to what i had previously drawn. I feel as if the colour really makes it come alive. For instance, darker colours suggests that this character wants to remain hidden from anyone and anything.Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 16.49.26Halfway through making this monster/mutant enemy character i decided that i would have to also use the line tool. The line tool allows you to draw straight lines. The only problem was that the size and colour was all off so i had to compromise and try and use the pen tool again instead. i also decided to add blood on the teeth of this mutant because i feel that that would let the player know that this creature is dangerous. I like how the head of the creature almost looks like bark from a tree. this gave me an idea for my game. i would have mages merge with different objects and materials to make them more powerful.

Compared to the concept sketch, i feel that this one is a big improvement. Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 16.49.39 This is what i wanted my first person view of the game too look like. Due to the lots of straight edges and simplicity, this one was the easiest to do.Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 17.03.05This will be the main menu. A chimera standing atop the flag of the game world. I would like it like this because it is simple and easy to use. Continue is greyed out because you cant use it until you have started a game. If you had saved data you would be able to use the continue button. the good thing about this is its not too simple and there isn’t too little going on.01011309 copyThis is what the main menu was like before editing it. I didn’t like the fact that there were so little options on the first screen you see as a player.

Leave a Reply

